Sky

Despite nursing an inane fear of heights and flying objects (birds, bugs, zubats, being on the receiving end of a blade in Ultimate, etc.), I’ve always had a special place in my heart for stuff that can fly in the sky. In fact, had you asked me what superpower I wanted between the ages of 8 and 16, my answer would have been flying. (Since then, however, I’ve come to realize that teleportation is more efficient and less terrifying than flying.)

So, flying. While I’m not a fan of plane rides, I enjoy airplane terminals. Each signifies a new place to explore (or an familiar one to return to) and maintains its own character, art, stores, people, and vibe. LAX, for example, is chaotic and bustling, much like the city it services.

DFW is also a hub of activity, but I’d like to talk about a smaller airport nearby. Dallas-Lovefield (DAL) used to operate as the main airport until 1974 (when DFW opened). I’d never seen it until two years ago, but it’s now one of my favorite landing sites. If you ever happen to pass through it with some free time on your hands, take a few minutes from catching pokemon to look around.

As a cozy airport with only 20 gates, it actually maintains a manageable walking distance between the entry and gates. It’s clean and aesthetic with nice people, and as an added bonus TSA doesn’t take an inordinately large amount of your time up.

What really draws me to it, though, is a massive torus-shaped* ringed sculpture in the center of the terminal.

Half of Sky

Sky, by Brower Hatcher of Mid-Ocean Studios, is one of a handful of pieces of art I’ve looked at that’s made me stop and stare. Sky is its own contained solar system of flying objects, from rockets to planes and butterflies to cranes. It’s geometric, colorful, ingenious, and imaginative in the way a five year old child would connect flying objects.

To me, it’s dreamy and beautiful — especially if you see it after a four hour redeye flight and it’s lit up:

portfolio
It’s also rainbow-capable!

The entire thing is comprised of gorgeous hand-crafted pieces like these inside an interconnected web of fiberglass rods:

sky-32
Stork, crane, bees, owl

Here’s a nifty 5 minute video on the crew working on the pieces and installation.

Hatcher has a collection of great pieces, which can be found on his website. I hope to see more of them in person someday. In the meantime, I’m considering making a mobile inspired by this piece, but summer laziness beckons. To combat the onset of procrastination, my goal is to create and curate a post every other day (instead of every month; I’ve been caught up in a lot of nothing lately), so expect new content soon.


*torus = physics = bye

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

